Tags

, ,

I love lemon. I love the smell of lemons, so tart and sharp but also sort of sweet. I love the color of lemons, such a bright yellow that a bowl of them draws the eye from anywhere in the room, giving a bright jolt that pleases my senses. I love lemon anything I’m always buying lemons and I use them to add flavor to plain water; I squeeze the juice down the kitchen sink drain to freshen the sometimes funky smell, I always pick the lemon scented cleaner on the shelf, and I’m currently trying a recipe for a household cleaner that I found in “Woman’s World” magazine that uses white vinegar and citrus (in this case lemon) peel put together in a spray bottle to use as a general cleaner. You put them together in the bottle and let them sit for several weeks. I love lemon meringue pie, and lemon poppy seed muffins and today while searching for a recipe for wings in a crockpot I came across this recipe for a lemon blueberry pound cake, http://www.cdkitchen.com/recipes/recs/1700/lemon-blueberry-pound-cake145088.shtml

The before

Since I had just cleaned out my freezer and knew I had half a bag of frozen blueberries and I had two fresh lemons sitting on the kitchen table (Do not refrigerate citrus please) I decided I was going to make this recipe. I did need to go to the store for that pound of butter (two sticks) that goes into a pound cake but I was going anyway so just added butter to the list. It’s a simple mix, butter, sugar, eggs, lemon juice and zest, mixed with some flour and the blueberries, and baked for 80 minutes, it took me almost longer to wash the mixer blades, grater and bowl than it did to mix the cake! I have to admit that I’m guilty of being one of those people that can’t wait until things cool down before I start tasting, (admit it, who of us hasn’t burned the roof of our mouth getting that first, still warm chocolate chip cookie off the baking sheet so the warm, melty chocolate can coat our taste buds?). So I tried the pound cake warm, and I tried it cooled, the one thing I didn’t try was grilled, though I meant to…really, I don’t know what happened. It was there, and then it wasn’t. Mmmmm it was yummy though, so since it’s blueberry season and lemons are always a tart refreshing addition to baked goods maybe you can try it for your Labor Day get together. I’ll bet it’s even better with fresh blueberries, and if you make two, because pound cake freezes well, you could pull one out of the freezer some dreary winter’s day, slice it up and put it on the grill, or warm it in the toaster oven, drizzle it with warm blueberry syrup or a sweet, lemon glaze, take a bite, close your eyes and remember summer. Lemons, a sight and scent that always brings you summer.

The after

